Volunteer Week is celebrated several different ways here in Okotoks, including through the Annual Volunteer Leadership Awards, held last night at the D'Arcy Ranch

This marked the 24th Annual Leadership Awards, featuring several community figures. Maya Povhe, winner of last year's Senior High Leaders of Tomorrow Award, appeared as keynote speaker, with Mayor Bill Robertson, Councillor Matt Rockley, and John Lockhart of the Rotary Club of Okotoks also making appearances and presenting awards.

Emma Katherine Summer Hayes and Emersynn Hefferan were the recipients of the Elementary and Junior High Leaders of Tomorrow Awards respectively, with the Heart of Okotoks Award, given to an individual or group for outstanding contributions to the Okotoks community through volunteer efforts, presented to Carol Faye.

Andrew Loe, the Highschool Leaders of Tomorrow Award recipient received a $500 bursary to attend the Rotary Youth Leadership Awards in Chestermere.

Along with the award recipients, all nominees were recognized for continued dedication and outstanding contributions to the community.


Questions, comments, or story ideas? Email us at [email protected]

More Local News

Possible Spring Snow-verload In Store For Okotoks

A low pressure system is moving into Southern Alberta in time for weekend. Sara Hoffman, Meteorologist with Environment and Climate Change Canada, says Okotoks will be no exception to the snow.…

New Smooth Surface For Road To Sheep River Park

A facelift is on the way for the road to the Sheep River Park and Lions Campground. The road is being paved and a new section of pathway is also being added. Preliminary work will start Apr. 25 and…

Disruptions For Motorists On Northridge Drive

A heads up for motorists about construction work taking place on Northridge Drive this week. A geotechnical investigation is taking place Wednesday and Thursday as part of the Town's Northridge Drive…

OkotoksOnline.com is Okotoks' only source for community news and information such as weather and classifieds.