Pierre Poilievre has won the leadership race on the first ballot and has been crowned the new federal Conservative Party of Canada leader.

Poilievre won the leadership decisively with 68.15 per cent of the vote.  He grabbed 22,993 of the almost 33,800 votes.

Runner up Jean Charest was far, far back mustering up barely 16 per cent of the vote.

Leslyn Lewis finished third with Roman Baber coming in fourth and Scott Aitchison rounded it out.

The last time a leader was able to clinch enough votes on the first ballot was back in 2004 with former prime minister Stephen Harper.