The Canadian government says that Canada's airspace is now closed to all Russian aircraft.

Transport Minister Omar Alghabra made the announcement on Sunday morning.

In a tweet, Alghabra says "Effective immediately, Canada’s airspace is closed to all Russian aircraft operators."

Western countries, including Canada, have been rolling out a number of sanctions to punish Russia for the invasion of Ukraine. A joint statement from the leaders of the European Commission, France, Germany, Italy, the United Kingdom, Canada, and the United States on Saturday outlined a number of actions being taken, including removing Russian banks from the SWIFT system.

"We will hold Russia accountable for its unprovoked attacks against Ukraine," Alghabra says in regards to Canada closing its airspace.

The move means not only will Russian aircraft not be allowed to land at Canadian airports, but they won't be allowed to fly over Canadian airspace during international flights. 

Germany and Finland had also announced the closure of their countries' airspace to Russian flights on Saturday.

On Saturday the Prime Minister "joined a call between Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance Chrystia Freeland and the Prime Minister of Ukraine, Denys Shymal, to offer support and express solidarity to the people in Ukraine," a release from the Prime Minister's office says.

"Prime Minister Trudeau stressed that Russia’s actions are blatant violations of international law, and will not be tolerated. The prime ministers discussed ways in which Canada could continue to support Ukraine in the immediate future."